Open hours: 10 am to 5 pm
+64 21 090 64288
Office Mobile Number
43 Fernhill Way, Oteha, Auckland
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday to Friday

Immigration New Zealand highlights June 2022

New Zealand border will reopen from 1 August 2022.

All visa categories, including Accredited Employer Work Visa (AEWV), will open for applications on 4 July, 2022.


AEWV will be available mainly to workers with remuneration equalling to, or exceeding the median wage (from 4 July - $27.76 per hour). ESWV will close for applications on 3 July.


From December 2022, partners of most temporary migrant workers will need to apply for their own AEWV or Visitor Visa.


These were granted by special direction on 9 May 2022 to those currently in New Zealand holding one of the visas below, with expiry between 9 May and 31

December, 2022.

  • Essential Skills Work Visa
  • Post Study Work Visa
  • Partner of a New Zealander Work Visa
  • Eligible Ukraine nationals granted a temporary visa on 10 March 2022.

The open work visas are valid for 2 years from the expiry of the previous one and

allow multiple entries. Families of the above visa holders have also been granted new visas depending on the type of the visa previously held and subject to conditions.


The visas below, with expiry between 9 May and 31 December, 2022, have been extended for 6 months by special direction.

  • Talent (Accredited Employers)
  • Talent (Arts, Culture and Sports)
  • Long Term Skill Shortage List
  • Skilled Migrant Category Job Search Visa
  • South Island Contribution

The extension includes the family of the visa holders, subject to conditions.


 Below are the dates the following schemes reopened

  • South Korea: 10 May 2022
  • China: 19 May
  • Taiwan: 25 May
  • Argentina: 26 May
  • Chile: now 31 May
  • Luxembourg: 17 May
  • Czech Republic: 2 June


Visa applications will reopen for visitors applying from Pacific Islands Forum countries (the list below) starting 16 May 2022. These applications can be made online only.

Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, French Polynesia, Kiribati, Nauru, New Caledonia, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Republic of Marshall Islands, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu. Already open are applications from Cook Islands and Niue.


Free online consultation

Have a question? Talk online with our licensed immigration adviser (via Zoom, Skype, WhatsApp, WeChat)
Select time

Our social media

Subscribe to our groups and social media channels.


Our adviser and director has been in the same boat with most of our valued clients who come to seek his counsel. He came to New Zealand as a migrant in 2002 and has been calling it home since then. It is our pleasure to serve your needs and provide professional immigration advisor services to help your dreams come true.
© Copyright 2021 New Shores Migration Ltd. All Rights Reserved.